Counting Down

No, not to the JLPT.  I don’t want to think about how close that is!  Instead, I’m thinking about thecountdown

Here’s what will be happening:program

And here’s what we’ll be eating

food

A Japanese friend assures me that the food will be authentic, and I’m looking forward to it.  I have vowed to try the takoyaki and promised my wife she could take video of me doing it.  I don’t know how it will taste, but I’m ready to find out. In fact, my plan is to try as many different foods as possible, since several of them are new to me.

Also, I’m looking forward to actually meeting my Japanese friend face to face, since all of our conversations so far have been via skype.

So, to celebrate, here’s a song about summer!

And, what the heck, here’s the opening of my favorite movie about summer, which just happens to be Japanese:

And, yes, if you’re paying attention, you will see that, although the English translation calls the movie Kikujiro, the Japanese clearly says 菊次郎の夏 -Kikujiro’s Summer.

I was completely astonished to find out that this summer festival was taking place in the area where I live.  Where ever you live, take a look around.  You never know what you might find!

頑張って

Leave a Reply

