It’s Grammar Time!

I am not starting to make my way through the grammar drill book.  Here’s a sample of what it looks like:

Capture

(Yeah, I know it’s a little crooked.  Sorry about that.)

Parts 1 and 2 consist of:

うちに、間、てからでないと、ところだ、とおりだ、によって、たびに、ばーほど and ついでに.

This is followed by a test in which you have a sentence with a blank in it and you have to fill in the right word.  This is 27 multiple choice questions.  Then we move on to parts 3 and 4.

My job is to go over 3 or 4 four grammar points a day and write practice sentences with each form which, by the way, is harder than I thought it would be.  It isn’t so much the writing the sentences as it is thinking them up in the first place!  Quick, think up a sentence using あいだに!  Got it?  Good.  Now think up three more!

It is a good book, though.  I like the fact that, after a few grammar points (okay, 8-10) you get a test on those grammar points.  That’s really what I was looking for.  In fact, I wish there were more of them.  Still, it’s a start.

So the everyday schedule now looks something like this:

*Review vocabulary from Minna No Nihongo 1&2, Chuukyuu he ikou & N3 core 2400 using Memrise.

*Learn new N3 vocabulary

*Study 3-4 grammar points and write sample sentences using each one

*Then, if time permits, get in some reading practice using Satori Reader and/or NHK News Web Easy or by reading Spirited Away.  The advantage of Satori Reader and News Web Easy is that you can also listen to the material.  I prefer to do that after reading it.

So, I’m a little busy, what with having a job and family and life and all, so my Japanese study has to wedged in around all of the other things.

I don’t actually use the News Web Easy site, by the way, I use an app which has some advantages, but that’s another post.

頑張って

 

Leave a Reply

