The More You Know…

…the easier it is to learn more.

Now that I’m paying for Satori Reader, I’m using it quite a bit.  Okay, every day for at least a few minutes.  One of the issues learning opportunities that I’m running into is a fair amount of new vocabulary.  (Because of the way the site is set up, this doesn’t have to slow down your reading.)

I am also working my way through a JLPT N3 vocabulary course on Memrise which, by the way, may take up every bit of the seven months I have before the test.  One of the good things is that I’m seeing some of the same vocabulary in both places.  Every time I run across a word in one location that I have met in the other, it’s a good thing.

Also, as I’ve addressed in another post, some of the Kanji for the N3 is easy because either I’ve seen it before or because it is a word made of individual characters that I already know and the combined meaning makes perfect sense.

When you start learning Japanese, the learning curve seems pretty steep, but it really is true that, the more you know, the easier it is to learn more.  This is not only because things that you already know make new things easier to understand but also because you find better and better tools and your brain gets used to what you’re doing and gets better at it.

I’ve actually already gone through all my vocabulary for the day (including learning a new set of words for the N3).  I still need to do some homework/grammar study, but that’s okay.  I’ll be able to carve out some time for that later on.

That, by the way, is also part of the trick.  Notice that I’m not going to find some time for grammar study, I’m going to make some time for grammar study.

The words I’m learning for the N3, by the way, are often new words for things I already know.

例えば (for example) 昨日 can be read two different ways.  It might be きのう or it might be さくじつ.  They both mean yesterday, the second is more formal than the first.  You might use さくじつ in a business meeting, for example, while きのう is a little more casual.

Oh, well.  昼ごはんです。食べましょう。

頑張って

Leave a Reply

