The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Conversation exchange is the gift that keeps on giving.  I am up to 9 contacts now.  I had only contacted a few people asking for a language exchange, but several new people have contacted me on their own.

Clearly, 9 people is more than I can meet up with on a regular basis.  I have three people I meet up with on the weekends now as a regularly scheduled event (plus my lesson).  A few of my new contacts, however, can meet up during the week, which is what I wanted.  I wanted to spread the conversation out.

By the way, if you do a language exchange (and unless you live around native speakers, you should) don’t be selfish.

You will meet people who are so eager to practice their new language that they don’t give you a chance to practice the language you are learning.  Don’t be that person.  Make a point of giving the other person a chance to practice as well.  One of the things I love to hear is, “Well, we been speaking English for awhile.  It’s time to change languages.”

And, of course, be aware that your language partner may not be as knowledgeable about Japanese grammar (or as good as explaining it) as an actual Japanese teacher might be.

After all, if someone asks you to explain the correct use of the subjunctive in English, or to explain how they can figure out when to use “to” and when to use “for” how ready would you be with a clear, thorough and comprehensible answer?

In other words, your mileage may vary when it comes to getting the answers to technical questions.

But a chance to practice your Japanese with a native speaker (and get some errors corrected) is invaluable, so go for it no matter what your level is.

頑張って

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

