Things Are Getting Complicated

It’s actually pretty cool to look at this chapter and think, “This is kind of complicated” because that means that there are Japanese things that aren’t complicated now.

One of the things in this chapter is making longer sentences.  One way to do that is by stitching verbs together, and I already knew how to do that using the て-form, but now I had to learn a new way to do it.

When I first learned that method, it seemed hard.  Now is seems pretty much effortless, but the new way seems hard.  The thing is, the new method only seems hard because the old way seems so easy now, which is a good thing.

Also, I’m learning new ways to say the same thing.  That is, I’m learning synonyms.  That’s certainly one sign of language growth.

There are some complications, though.  When to use ものだ vs ことだ for example, as well as different ways to nominalize a verb and when to use which way.

These are the sorts of complications that I couldn’t even have envision six months ago, so the very fact that I’m stubbing my toe on them is a sign of having advanced.

It’s all a matter of perspective, I guess.

So, I have a little research to do to figure some things out, and I have some more homework to do.  I will admit that I’m looking forward to getting done with this chapter and moving on!

頑張って

Leave a Reply

