Stuff I’m Watching

A few weeks ago I bought るろうに剣心 京都大火編 (Rurouni Kenshin:  Kyoto Inferno), a live action movie based on the anime.  Tonight I finally got around to watching it.  “How was it?” I imagine you asking.  Well, I’m headed to the store tomorrow in the hopes of finding part 3.  That’s how good it was.  Also, it ended on a cliff hanger.

I have watched a few episodes of 深夜食堂 (Midnight Diner), a series on netflix based on a manga.  It was pretty good.

I have given up on イタズラなKiss~Love in Tokyo (Mischievous Kiss).  I never did like it much.  It’s based on a 少女漫画, which means their target demographic is young teenage girls.  Not surprisingly, I didn’t like it much, but it was something to watch in Japanese.

Now, to be clear, I am watching all of these with subtitles.  My Japanese is definitely nowhere near the point that I could understand them without subtitles. but it’s still going me good to watch them.  Aside from the fact that I am enjoying a couple of them, I am filling my ears with the sounds of Japanese, and that’s always a good thing to do.

Watching these shows has done two things.

(1) It has frustrated me by revealing just how far away from my goal I really am

(2) It has motivated me by revealing just how far away form my goal I really am

Yeah, I now.  Contradictory.  That’s just how it is.

The thing that I need to do most is to find someone who I can chat with in Japanese during the week.  That’s a huge deal.  I can talk to myself, of course, but I’m not that interesting.  I’d rather talk to somebody else.  I have a couple of possibilities.  We’ll see what materializes.

Also, I have officially started writing practice.  Yep.  It’s that time.  I am learning to write hiragana and some basic kanji.  It is very boring, and I an not enjoying it particularly, but I want to learn, so I’ll stick with it.

Back when I was learning the kanji, I started this blog as a way of motivating myself.  I didn’t figure anyone else would actually read it.  I just didn’t want to post something like, “Well, I didn’t study today” and that motivated me to study even on days when I didn’t feel like it.

Well, it’s time to roll out the same trick.

I am starting to learn how to write Japanese, everyone.  I am going to practice every day.  I’ll tell you if I don’t.

There.  That ought to do it!

頑張って

Leave a Reply

