One of Those Days…

Well, it happened.  I had one of those depressing days last week.  I was streaming a Japanese TV show (with subtitles) but I was trying to follow the Japanese, and there was a long scene during which I understood nothing.  Not one word.  They were speaking quickly and casually, and I was left out in the cold…

And I thought to myself, “Doggone it!*  I am never going to get this darned* language!”

(*Not a direct quote.)

Now, mind you, this was followed three seconds later by “Well, back to studying.”

Do you have those moments from time to time?  I don’t have them very often, and, more than me thinking that I can’t do it, it’s really just a bit of frustration that I’m not where I want to be yet.

The truth is, though, that it’s okay.  I’m moving forward, so I will eventually be where I want to be, as long as I don’t give up.

The same thing is true of you.  Maybe you wish you had progressed farther in the available time…you just have to let that go.  You are farther along now than you were.  If you keep studying, you will be farther along than you are now, and you will eventually get to where you want to be, as long as you don’t give up.

That’s always the key.  Don’t give up.  If you get frustrated, take a deep breath, eat an ice cream cone, go for a bike ride, drink the beverage of your choice…better?  Good.  Now get over it and get back to work.

I’m guessing that no one ever told that you that learning Japanese was easy, and it’s not.

It is quite likely that you have read or been that learning Japanese is impossible, and it’s not.

But it does take effort, so don’t get discouraged.  Keep your eye on the goal.  If you learn even one vocabulary word or grammatical structure today, then you know more Japanese than you did yesterday.  Good for you!  Lather, rinse, repeat.  Make sure that, tomorrow, you know more Japanese than  you do today.  Make sure that, the day after tomorrow you know more Japanese than you do tomorrow…that actually is easy to do, so just keep doing it, and all of that Japanese knowledge will build up until, one magical day, when someone asks you if you speak Japanese, you can say “Why, sure.”

A little earlier today, I did a little writing practice.  Nothing fascinating or extremely difficult, but here it is:

今週はとても忙しい、でも毎日運動する。自転しに乗りたい、でも寒い.何をする?フィットネスセンターへ行って、スピンバイクに乗る。スピンバイクに乗るのが好きじゃない。退屈だ。そしてフィットネスセンターはいつも暑く、よく込んでいる。道に自転車に乗るのが大好きだ。

毎日日本語を勉強する.今日、3課を終わって、3課の文法を復習して、4課の語彙を勉強する。明日4課の宿題を始める。今夜、時間があれば、日本語の本を読む。あの。。。読むこと試みる。読むのはちょっと難しい。

程なく会議に出席なければならない。あとで細菌培養をしなければならない。(私は微生物学の教師だ。)会議に出席するのが好きじゃない。

You know why I could do that?

Because I know more Japanese today than I did yesterday.

頑張って

Leave a Reply

