JLPT again…

I had my Cafetalk lesson this morning at the completely ridiculous hour of 6:00 am because that’s what you get when you wait too long to book your time slot.  I was not at my mental best (such as it is).  In fact, right in the middle of conversation, I suddenly forgot how to conjugate the present negative form of an i-adjective (*gasp*), something I learned how to do many months ago and have done many times since.  My teacher, being wise, didn’t tell me how to do it but led me along until I finally dredged it up out of my sluggish brain.  It probably only took 60 seconds or so, but you try sitting there for 60 seconds trying to remember something while someone else waits on you!

I mentioned the JLPT, and her face lit up.  She thinks taking it would be a great idea.

She also assured me that the N5, N4 and N3 are all easy.

To which I replied, “Yeah, but you’re Japanese!”

She added that the N2 and N1 are difficult.  Finishing Minna no Nihongo should prepare you for the N4.  Chuukyuu e ikou is an N4-N3 book.

Oh, and I got a glimpse into the future.  More Chuukyuu e ikou.  I am in the pink book now.  After that is the orange book and then the blue book…

That ought to keep me occupied for a while.

So, as it stands right now, in December I will take the JLPT N3.  (You never know.  It might turn out to be the N2 depending on how things go, but I’m going to focus on the N3 for now.)  December 2, by the way,  is apparently the only day it is being offered in the US this year.  It’s good to have a goal.

And…she sent me a book.  She used the word 書き練習 (at least, I think that’s what she said) which is obviously writing practice.  Then I looked at the book.  Yep.  Writing practice.  Welcome to the land of Kanji.  Well, many people say that learning to write the Kanji is the best way to learn them.  At least the first one in the book is the nice and easy 山。  I don’t suppose they get much easier than that, except for 一, 二, and 三 which are probably three of the easiest Kanji out there.

So, the plan for this week:

*review chapters 1,2 and 3 of 中級へ行こう, grammar and vocabulary

*do my daily vocabulary reviews from Minna no Nihongo 1 and 2 using memrise

*practice writing some Kanji

*maybe look up some memrise courses on the JLPT

And that’s certainly plenty, along with doing my job, spending time with my family and all the other things that I do that aren’t learning Japanese.

Well, the journey certainly has some roadsigns now, that’s for sure

頑張って

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

