Without Thinking

One thing about 中級へ行こう, it packs a lot of grammar into one chapter, which is one of the reasons why I am spending two weeks per chapter instead of just one.  This particular chapter (3) introduces 6 new grammatical structures.

What I was looking at this morning is つい + て-form verb + しまう which means to do something unconsciously or without thinking or to have done something that you think you probably shouldn’t have done, and you regret it.

たとえば (for example)

ゲームをし始めると、宿題を忘れて、つい続けてしまう。

(geemu wo shihajimeruto, shukudai wo wasurete, tsui tsuzukete shimau.)

ゲームをし始めると – when I start playing a game

宿題を忘れて – I forget about my homework

つい続けてしまう – I continue (playing).

So:  When I start playing a game, I forget about my homework and keep on playing

And the implication is that I do this without really realizing that I’m doing it, and I really shouldn’t do it

And, because this is how the book 中級へ行こう works, now I have to right a 短作文 (short theme) on using this structure.  The topic is ついやってしまう歩と which is basically things that I do (with the same implication that I indicated above).

They give you an example sentence to give you an idea of the sort of thing you should write:

私は食べ放題の店に入ると、つい食べすぎてしまいます。

(watashi wa tabehoudai no mise ni hairuteo, tsui tabesugite shimaimasu)

放題の店に would be an “all-you-can-eat” restaurant so:

When I go into an all-you-can-eat restaurant, I eat too much with the usual implication we’ve already seen.

I really like this book, and one of the reasons is the 短作文.  They force me to use the language to discuss things, and that’s really helpful.  If you want to learn the language, you have to use the language, right?

Well, the non-Japanese language part of the world is calling.  I have to go work.

頑張って

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

