Still Learning Japanese

Yep, it’s been pretty quiet around the old homestead…well, actually, it hasn’t, and that’s been the problem.  Lots of stuff…way too much stuff, in fact, going in.

So where are we in our Japanese language journey?  Starting Chapter 3 of 中級へ行こう.  This chapter is about kids these days (and their fancy devices), or, as the reading assignment puts is:

最近、携帯電話やスマートホンで話している子どもをよく見ませんか。 which I would translate as These days, don’t you often see kids taking on cell phones and smartphones?

(By the way, it still blows my mind that I can look at a sentence like that and read it.  Actually read it!  How cool is that?  A year ago, I probably wouldn’t have gotten a single word our of that sentence, and now I can read the whole thing.)

Oh, and, also by the way, the book I’m using does have furigana when new words are introduced, but they go away as you progress through the chapter, which I think perfect.

Oh, and, also also by the way, that sentence is a perfect example of why you just have to love Japanese.  No spaces between the words, and kanji and hiragana and katakana all in one sentence and, in this example, kanji and hiragana all in the same word.

すごいですね。

Anyway,  I have a meeting that I have to go to after work today, and I have a nice set of vocabulary to learn and some grammar to get started on for my lesson this week.

Also, I saw a sign outside an Asian market for something called the Japan Appreciation Society.  I thought that I took a photo of the sign for later consideration, but I can’t find it, so I’m going to swing back by and see what it’s all about.

The thing that I most need now is the opportunity to try and use some Japanese during the week, so maybe this will help.

頑張って

 

3 thoughts on “Still Learning Japanese

  1. すごい!「ni」と「で」と「くて」と「ために」と「ように」わかる?それは私には難しかった。まだある!新しい本はなんだ?頑張ってくだださい!

    Getting to the end of Minna no Nihongo is a big step, isn’t it? I got a real sense of accomplishment out of it. I’m really liking chuukyuu he ikou.

    Like

Leave a Reply

