Keigo Part 2

Last week was all about using speech that kind of elevates the person you are speaking to.  This week is all about speech that indicates one’s own humility.  In other words, a whole other set of words to take the place of words I already know.

Whew.

Keigo is extremely important, but kind of rough.

Of course, there is also the fact that this has been a bad study week.  My daughter had her tonsils out, so she is camped out in the living room with the TV blaring away constantly.  We family coming to visit, which means that my wife is in a tizzy trying to make the house as spotless as an operating room while piling all kinds of extra tasks on everyone, herself included.

So, where to find both the quite and the time to study?

Excellent question.

The answer seems to be in little tiny pieces where ever possible.

And…I let myself get swamped with anki avalanche.  This is what happens when you let a few days pass without doing your anki vocabulary.  And then a few more…

I logged into to anki to find 250 cards waiting to be reviewed.  Oops.

Oh, and then I realized that I had set the number of review cards to 250…so it might actually be more than that.  In fact, it turned out to be 496.

Double oops.

It took me a few days to clear them all out, since additional new review cards popped up every day, but I finally got it done.

I did, however, take the time to look over some JLPT N5 practice questions. They weren’t bad.  Maybe I could pass the N5 now.  Who knows?  One thing I do know, though, is that I won’t be taking it.

I really like the idea of testing to verify my level, and who objects to having a certificate to show you can do it, but the cost is prohibitive.

It isn’t the cost of the test, it’s the cost of driving six and a half hours to the nearest testing site, followed by the cost of a hotel room for the night, plus the cost of the test the next day, and then what?  Drive six and a half hours back home right after the test?  Or pop for the cost of a room for an extra night?

Either way, it all adds up to too much money, at least right now.

I do, however, want to check out some more JLPT N5 practice questions and kanji lists and vocabulary lists and some listening exercises online…just, you know, for the sake of curiosity.

Well, time to get that homework done.  The next exercise?  先生にメモを聞きましょう。  Time to practice a little keigo.

頑張って

Leave a Reply

