Moving Along

It is a brisk 23 degrees outside.  For all you fans of Celsius, that’s about -5 degrees, and, for all my fellow science nerds, that’s around 268 Kelvin.

Yesterday, I met a guy who, when he was in college, spent about 6 weeks in Japan and then bought himself a thick Japanese language textbook and set about learning the language.

He gave up.

You know what really stinks?  Starting to study…giving up…then meeting someone who stuck with it, because you can’t help but think, “Oh, man, I could be at that level now if only…”

Which is yet another reason to not give up.

Also, as I was printing out the pages for lesson 49 (next to last!) in Minna no Nihongo 2 and seeing how close I was to the end of the book, I thought back to when I started Minna no Nihongo 1.  50 chapters?!  Why, that’ll take forever!

Then I forgot about it and simply worked on one chapter at a time, and now, here I am, maybe two weeks away from finishing the book.  Little by little, step by step, day by day…work at it consistently and you’ll make progress.  It might be hard to see from one day to the next, but, one day, you’ll suddenly look back and realize how far along you are, and that’s a nice feeling!

And in the spirit of nice feelings, since Christmas is approaching, Merry Totoro to you.

merry-totoro

I took a look at the intermediate Japanese book that I’ll be starting in a few days.  Here are some samples:

book-1a

Lots of Japanese in there.

The grammar instructions are, how shall I put it…rather concise:

book-2a

and, as you can see, in a spirit of convenience, they make one book do for people who speak different native languages.

And here’s some vocabulary:

book-vocab-a

I’m please to be able to say that I already know some of those words.  That’ll help when I get there.

But, that’s a couple of weeks away.

This week, Minna No Nihongo Chapter 49:  Keigo.  (You have to imagine the dramatic music…bum bum buuuummmmmm! as you read that workd.)

Keigo, of course, is honorifics, respectful language, very formal Japanese.  And, let me tell you, when Japanese gets formal, it gets very formal indeed.

My homework from Chapter 48 went very well.  Mind you, my tutor’s highest form of praise when it comes to homework is 大丈夫, but I heard that a lot today, so that’s all to the good.  Next task, begin studying the vocabulary for Chapter 49.

頑張って

 

 

Leave a Reply

