Easy Reading – Spirited Away

In celebration of the 15th anniversary of Spirited Away it was shown in various theaters around the US.  They have added some extra days, though, so check out Fathom Events if you missed it.  In January 2017 they will be showing Princess Mononoke.  I never saw that one in the theater, so I intend to go.  (It helps to have a wife who likes Studio Ghibli’s films!)

Anyway, here’s a brief exercise in Japanese writing about seeing Spirited Away followed by a breakdown of it.  As always, remember that I’m just this guy who is learning Japanese, so I can’t promise that it’s perfect Japanese.  (If you’re wondering why it’s so short – time constraints.  I hope to write something nice and long around the end of this month, though.)

昨日は家族と映画館で千と千尋の神隠しを見た。すごい! 15年前映画館で見た。見れば、みるほど、好きになる。昨日、英語で見た。今週、DVDで、日本語で字幕なしで見る。すべてを分かりません、でも大丈夫。

午前10時家を出た。11時昼ごはんを食べた。12時映画を見た。映画のあとでGhiblies:  Episode 2を見た。これはアメリカで初めての見せた。ちょっと変でも面白かった。多くの人は千と千尋の後で出た。Ghiblies を見なかった! 多分発表を読まなかった。

映画のあとで家へ帰った。昨日の夜妻は働かなければならなかった。

昨日は家族と映画館で千と千尋の神隠しを見た。- Yesterday, my family and I watched “Spirited Away” at the movie theater.  Of course, it really is 私は家族と – “I and my family” but I’ve left out the 私は as it is obvious from context.

すごい! – cool or awesome or whichever similar word happens to appeal to you

15年前映画館で見た。- I saw it at the theater 15 years ago.  15年前 is really more like “15 years before” but a literal translation is often not the best translation.

見れば、みるほど、好きになる. – The more I see it, the better I like it.  Kind of a complicated grammatical structure, here, huh?  This one seems easier in English to me.  A verb in the conditional tense みれば followed by the same verb in the dictionary form 見る followed by ほど becomes something equivalent to “the more I [verb]”.  Then I went with 好きになる which, if we translate literally, probably comes out something like “it becomes likeable”.  This sentence pretty much came out intact in my brain, but it also kind of makes my head hurt.  I think I got that one right.

昨日、英語で見た。 – Yesterday I watched it in English.  True, neither “I” nor “it” actually appear in this sentence.

今週、DVDで、日本語で字幕なしで見る。- This week, I will watch it on DVD in Japanese without subtitles.  I’ll confess that I’m not entirely certain about the construction of this sentence, but I’m going with it as is.

すべてを分かりません、でも大丈夫。- I won’t understand everything, but that’s all right

午前10時家を出た。- We left the house at 10 a.m.  Yeah, a little confusing.  I suddenly switched back to talking about what we did yesterday.  I suppose I should have added in 昨日 to make that clearer, but I’m not going to go back and change it now.

11時昼ごはんを食べた – We ate lunch at 11

12時映画を見た。- At 12 we watched the movie

映画のあとでGhiblies:  Episode 2を見た。- After the movie, we watched Ghiblies:  Episode 2

これはアメリカで初めての見せた。- This was the first time it was shown in the US.  Upon reflection, I probably should have gone with それ instead of これ but I’m not going back and fixing mistakes now.  I’m trying to pretty much get it written and move on rather than obsessively polishing it up after the fact.

ちょっと変でも面白かった。- It was a little strange but funny.  Yes, 面白い seems to be a word with a lot of meanings.  Interesting, funny…again, I’m just going with it.

多くの人は千と千尋の後で出た – Many people left after Spirited Away.  Again, I’m not entirely certain about this sentence.  It seems okay to me, but, sometimes, I say something that seems okay to me and my tutor just looks confused…

Ghiblies を見なかった!- They didn’t see Ghiblies!

多分発表を読まなかった。- They probably didn’t read the announcement

映画のあとで家へ帰った – After the movie, we went back home.  Yes, I know.  The word “we” isn’t in here.  I certainly could have included it, but I figured the read would get it from context.

昨日の夜妻は働かなければならなかった。 – Last night, my wife had to work.  That seems, well, not more complicated in Japanese, but definitely longer.  Negative form of a verb with the ない – 働か  + なければなりません means “to have to [verb]”, though here I put it into the less formal form.

And, yes, it kind of peters out there.  It isn’t exactly a fascinating story with a fascinating ending, but I managed to work in some different grammatical structures and get some practice, and that’s really my goal.

頑張って

Leave a Reply

