Totoro

So, my project last night was to immerse myself in Japanese.  I decided to watch something in Japanese without subtitles.  I picked something I was already familiar with so that I knew I would be be able to follow the story, but not something that I could actually quote, so I couldn’t cheat by already knowing the lines in English.

My choice was My Neighbor Totoro (となりのトトロ), a lovely animated film from 1988.  I figured it would have a lot of everyday Japanese, and the characters range from very younger kids to older kids to adults to older adults, so you get a range of voices.

I understood some things but often whole sentences just went in one ear and out the other.  That got me wondering…so I did a search for “totoro vocabulary” and, what do you know, memrise to the rescue again!

I found a course labeled with this picture:

totoro-pic

And this description:

Learn the vocabulary used in the film My Neighbour Totoro in order to watch without English/Japanese subtitles. [Last update: 4th March 2015]
Needless to say (but I’m going to say it anyway) I quickly added that course to my dashboard.  The course contains a grand total of 212 words, which ought to be plenty.  I can certainly find 10 or 15 minutes a day to add this into my study regimen.
This is going to be even more fun.  And, of course, once I get this down, it’ll help with other movies, too.  I”ll to stick with movies that are likely to have a lot of everyday vocabulary, so the next one might be Up on Poppy Hill.
Getting to the point where doing this kind of thing begins to seem reasonable is a great motivator to keep going.  It simply gets more and more fun as you go, so, if you’re in the early, boring stages, hang in there.  It gets lots better!
頑張って
Leave a Reply

