Easy Reading – Evening Plans

今週の宿題はほとんど終わりました。今日の語彙は勉強してしまいました。今晩はゆっくりしたいです。たぶん妻と「フランケンシュタインの家」を見てでしょう。古いの映画で。古いの英語を見るのが大好きです。晩御飯でなにを食べるか、わかりません。今日は忙しかったです。今晩休みたいです。

A very short piece of writing, indeed.  Here’s the breakdown.  (As always, I am just a student of Japanese, so linguistic accuracy is not guaranteed.)

今週の宿題はほとんど終わりました – this week’s homework is almost done – I have to confess that I’m not entirely certain about the grammar here, as I don’t think I’ve ever actually used ほとんど in a sentence before

今日の語彙は勉強してしまいました – I have finished studying today’s vocabulary.  There are a couple of things that I like about this sentence.  One of them is the use of -てしまいました to stress that a task has been completed. The other is the elegance of the Kanji.

Now, when I first started Japanese, I learned to recognize 2,000 or so Kanji and their basic English meaning.  At first, the Kanji were nonsense to me, but eventually how much sense many of them really make.

例えば (for example) 今日 means today and it consists of the Kanji for now and day, and there are lots of Kanji just like that.

今晩はゆっくりしたいです – this evening I want to relax – good old たい form makes this construction 朝飯前 * <–Look!  A footnote!

たぶん妻と「フランケンシュタインの家」を見てでしょう – my wife and I will probably watch “House of Frankenstein”.  でしょう means that it is pretty likely, and たぶん indicates that it is more likely still, right?

古いの映画です- It is an old movie

古いの英語を見るのが大好きです– I really like watching old movies.

Actually, this is a form that I only learned recently.  The の after 見る turns the verb into a noun.  (It nominalizes it, if you want to get picky.)  This is a really useful point of grammar to know, because, as it turns out, I use that sort of thing in English a lot.

And, speaking of the coolness of Kanji, we get 大好き.  This tends be something you learn really early on in your study of Japanese.  好き means like and adding 大 makes is big like.

晩御飯でなにを食べるか、わかりません – I don’t know what we’ll have for dinner.  I’m sure of part of the grammar on this one…that being the second half.  It’s the 晩御飯で part that I’m a little uncertain about.

The second part is something I also just recently learned.  It is a question embedded in a sentence.  In this case, the question is “What will we eat?” Also a pretty cool thing to know how to do.

今日は忙しかったです – today was busy.  Really, to be honest, I should have added a とても in there, but it was, indeed, very busy.

今晩休みたいです – I want to rest tonight – Yes, I know this is kind of repetitive, since I basically said the same thing earlier.  I am not troubled by this, since it isn’t quite the same thing.

*朝飯前 – possibly my all-time favorite word in Japanese.  The Kanji are morning meal before, so before breakfast so…something so easy you can do it before breakfast.  I generally think of it as “a piece of cake”.

頑張って

Leave a Reply

