Back on Track

Hurricane Matthew is a memory, although the effects are still ongoing all around me, but the place I work is open again and things are settling down to something resembling normal.

The plan for today:  study some Japanese.  No surprise there, right?

Actually, I probably have too much on my plate to get all the studying I want done.

What I would like to do is:

-study vocabulary through memrise and anki

-read some from the Japanese reader

-do some of my homework from みんなの日本語

-talk to myself in Japanese

But that all has to come in between doing all the stuff the comes with being a living, breathing human being, such as doing my job, running some errands and spending time with my family.

Full day, right?

Actually, it isn’t as bad as it sounds, because studying Japanese has become a habit and is integrated into my day.  That’s the trick.  You make the time to study and then you find a way to fit it in to everything else.

I tend to do my vocabulary study first thing in the morning.  I fire up memrise and/or anki while I’m eating breakfast.  As far as the reader goes, I can squeeze in a few minutes here and there throughout the day with no problem.  The only real time commitment is the homework, and I tend to parcel it out through the week.

As far as talking to myself in Japanese, which, by the way, will earn you some really strange looks if you do it where other people can overhear you, obviously that can happen quite a bit during the day.

All in all, I can get a lot done in a lot less time that you might think.  This is what works for me.  If you are learning Japanese, you have to find your own time slots, your own gimmicks and make it a part of your day.  You know how much time you can devote to your studies daily and you know where you can find that time.

Don’t let lack of time be an excuse.  A lot of people spend time playing video games, watching TV and so on, and I’m not knocking those things, but you can take time from things like that and spend it learning something if you choose to.  That’s your call and nobody else’s.

Why on earth to I harp on learning Japanese so much?  What earthly good is it?

Well, some people may have a practical use for Japanese.  Others may just want to watch movies or anime without having to use subtitles.  Others just may like to exercise the brain and keep it working.  Who knows?

I’m enjoying it, though.

頑張って

5 thoughts on “Back on Track

  1. No, it’s actually a book written by Miku Ono. It is called First Japanese Reader For Beginners, but I’m really surprised at some of the grammatical structures that are popping up in it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

