Well, That Was A Week

今週、たくさん新しい言葉を習った。たとえば:ハリケーンと洪水。

Just in case you didn’t follow that, it says “This week, I learned many new words. For example: hurricane and flood.

Hurricane dropped a whopping 15 inches of rain on us in less than 24 hours with rather predictable results. In fact, even as I write this, nearly a week later, some of the rivers around here have yet to crest, so we’re not exactly having loads of fun.

However, I’m dry, I have power, the place I work is closed at the moment, so I have been studying Japanese. Hey, you have to do something to keep occupied, right?

The recent stuff I have studied has been a bit 複雑 (complicated – a word I have wanted to learn for quite some time) because it involves somewhat subtle shades of difference.

I still had power and wifi when it was time for my Cafetalk lesson (which was just as Matthew was really moving in on us), and my tutor and I talked about the difference between a ハリケーン and a 台風. (She said that a ハリケーン is stronger, in case you’re wondering.)

So this week I reviewed chapters 38, 39 and 40. So far, I have redone the 宿題 for 39 and 40, and I will probably redo the homework for 38 today, time permitting. As you might imagine, there are one or two other things that I need to get done as well.

I hope you are also warm and dry, where ever you may be.

頑張って

2 thoughts on “Well, That Was A Week

  1. I think technically hurricanes and typhoons are the same thing, just in different locations (e.g., Caribbean vs North Pacific), but maybe there’s a broader distinction in Japanese?

    Like

    • I always thought they were the same, too, so I finally got around to looking it up. According to the NOAA website, they are exactly the same thing. They are both “tropical cyclones” which get their names based on geography.

      Like

Leave a Reply

