Easy Reading – Weekend Plans

今週末アイルランドの音楽の祭りある。行くつもりだ。。アイルランドの音楽が好きだ。。友達と行きたかった、でも彼はいける。.車を運転するのがすきじゃない。友達は運転するのが好きだ。たぶんオートバイに乗る。オートバイに乗るのが好きだ、でもちょっと遠い。そして車に乗れば、ギターを持っていることができる。選ばなければなりません。

Okay, so I tried to get a little fancy and use some different grammatical forms.  As always, I make no promise that my Japanese is actually factually correct, but I did my best!

今週末アイルランドの音楽の祭りある – This weekend, there is an Irish music festival.  Of course, I had to go for Irishmusic festival because…Japanese.  When I first wrote this sentence, I ended it with です, but it seemed better to go with ある since this is really stating existence.

行くつもりだ – I intend to go.  I have several options here.  I could have gone with ともっている for I am thinking about going or よてい for I plan to go.  I think this is about degrees of certainty.   I’m thinking about going is ‘maybe’, I intend to go is ‘probably’ and I plan to go is ‘definitely’.  At least, that’s how I understand it.  Corrections are always welcome.

アイルランドの音楽が好きだ – I like Irish music.  That’s a pretty standard sentence.  (I like the fact that there are Japanese sentences that I can say “yeah, that’s pretty standard” and move on.)

友達と行きたかった – I wanted to go with a friend.  I’m pretty sure I got that one right.  I have done a lot of conjugation with たい forms even though I learned about them a while ago

でも彼はいけない – but he can’t go.  Hey, look at that.  A verb in the potential form!  In fact, the negative potential form.  I hope I got it right!

車を運転するのがすきじゃない – I do not like driving a car.  This is me trying to use the brand new form I just learned this week – a nominalized verb.  That is, a verb used as a noun and placed as the subject of a sentence.

友達は運転するのが好きだ – My friend likes driving.  Of course, the word my (私の) isn’t actually in the sentence, but one of the fun things about plain form Japanese is that, if it can reasonably be inferred, you don’t have to say it

たぶんオートバイに乗る – I will probably ride my motorcycle.  I would really like ‘maybe’ instead of probably, but, oh, well…

オートバイに乗るのが好きだ – I like riding a motorcycle.  Hey, the more practice I get with nominalized verbs, the better

でもちょっと遠い – but, it’s a bit far away

そして車に乗れば – and, if I use the car – Conditional form of the verb, look at that!  Now, I said use the car, but more literally it would be something like ride in the car.  Close enough for me.

ギターを持っていることができます – I will be able to take my guitar.  Here I’ve also nominalized a verb, but this time I did it with ことができます.  This thing is a field of different verb forms.  That was really a goal I had in mind while I was writing it.

選ばなければなりません – I have to choose.  I could (and maybe should) have gone with 考える to decide but I suppose that 選ぶ to choose should go fine.

Bur, for today, I have some more studying to do.

頑張って

 

Leave a Reply

