Keeping On

Yesterday was a bad vocabulary day.  I don’t know why.  Do you ever have those?  Days when the vocabulary just won’t stick in your mind?  It happens to me every once in a while.  It’s as if my brain just gets tired and says, “Yeah…not today.”  Even reviewing vocabulary words that I know well, I miss a lot of them.  Yesterday was one of those days.

Today is not one of those days.  I misread the clock and got up and hour early.  I was actually dressed about about to walk out the door when I realized what time it was.  So, what should I do with a sudden extra hour?  Open memrise and study vocabulary, of course.  I am writing this at 7:30 am, and I’ve already met my vocabulary goal for the day.

My review week is going well.  Last night I was reviewing imperatives.  Taking the week off from learning new material in order to consolidate old material was a really good idea.  Sometimes forward progress isn’t actually progress at all.  What good does it do to cram new grammar into your brain if you don’t have a solid handle on the things you previously (supposedly) learned?  None at all.

There are so many things that I don’t feel wobbly on now, and I still have Thursday and Friday at the very least for reviews.

So the obvious question is, what will I do in my Cafetalk lesson with Makisan on Saturday since I won’t have any homework to go over?

Easy:  Conversation!

One of the things that makes Japanese difficult is that I don’t get to practice it with other people very often.  When you are learning a language, just making conversation in that language is incredibly helpful.I hope you’re learning Japanese.  Not because I necessarily want everyone in the world to speak Japanese but because (a) it’s fun and (b) it’s doable.  If your native tongue is a western language, Japanese seems so incredibly foreign in a way that Spanish or French doesn’t.  That creates this illusion of difficulty, but, in many ways, it is an illusion.As I like to say:  Learning Japanese isn’t hard.  Finding the motivation for consistent, daily study, that’s hard.  But, if you can do that, you will learn.  There are plenty of methods out there.  The Hacking Japanese Supercourse got me started.  There are plenty of websites, textbooks, apps, everything in the world to help you along.  (I have a couple of lists here that might help you.  And, by the way, if you know of anything that should be added to the website or app lists, please let me know.  I want them to be as helpful as possible, and that means as informative as possible.)All you need to do is to realize that you can do it and get started.  So, what are you waiting for?  頑張って

 

Leave a Reply

