Easy Reading – Another Bike Ride

I really feel like I need to use Japanese more, so here’s a short paragraph.

今週は15マイル自転車に乗った。この夏はとても蒸し暑かった。今日も蒸し暑い。水がたくさん飲んだ。あついから(そして私はちょっと重いから)遅かった。足がすこし疲れました。なにを見た?(This is a vocabulary exercise for me and probably a test of patience for anyone who attempts to read it!)家とたくさん木と車とダイズ畑と麦畑と丘を見た。丘が好きじゃない。鳥と犬を聞いたけどそれを見なかった。自転しに乗れば、乗るほどいいですが。 走ることの後で、聖歌隊の練習へ行った。(あの。。。まず走ることの後でシャワーをあびた。)

Okay, so let me break this one down, showing you what I was trying to say.  As always, I make no claims that I have the grammar perfect.

今週は15マイル自転車に乗った – today I went for a 15 mile bike ride.  Okay, it’s really “Today, 15 miles, bicycle, I rode” because Japanese.

この夏はとても蒸し暑かった – this summer it has been very hot and humid.  I don’t know why, but I really like the idea that Japanese has a single word that means “hot and humid”.  Anyway, this sentence doesn’t really say “has been” it just says “was” but I wanted “has been” so that’s how I translated it to myself.  I don’t really know how to say “has been” yet.

今日も蒸し暑い – today, too, it is hot and humid

水がたくさん飲んだ – I drank a lot of water あついから – ­because it is hot

そして私はちょっと重いから)- and because I am a little heavy (I don’t know how to say “out of shape”, so that was my compromise

遅かった – I was slow.  Yep.  I was.

足がすこし疲れました – my legs are a little tired.  Well, to be honest, they aren’t, but I knew how to write that sentence, so I put it in.  I might have added the true fact that my backside is a little sore (I haven’t ridden that much because of the heat) but I couldn’t be sure that I would say it politely in Japanese, so I left that out.  The reason I include that long explanation is to highlight the fact that, sometime, you can’t say what you really want to, so you have to approximate in the hopes of just getting the general idea across.

なにを見た? – what did I see? So, why did I put in a question mark here instead of using か?  Because I read that, in casual Japanese, people don’t use か but use voice inflection to indicate a question, much as is done in English.  But, how do you indicate that in writing?  Well, I don’t know.  So…

家とたくさん木と車とダイズ畑と麦畑と丘を見た – I saw houses, a lot of trees, cars, soybean fields, corn fields and hills.  Yes, I really did just make a list of items.  Can you tell I live in a somewhat rural area?

丘が好きじゃない – I don’t like hills…especially on really hot days!

鳥と犬を聞いたけどそれを見なかった – I heard some birds and a dog, but I didn’t see them. I have to be honest, I’m not too sure of the grammar in this one…

自転しに乗れば、乗るほどいいですが。- The more I ride, the better it is.  Really, I would rather say, the more I ride, the better I like it, but I was pretty sure I knew how to say the above sentence, so I went with that.  This is an odd little grammatical structure that I just learned, so I wanted to work it in.

走ることの後で、聖歌隊の練習へ行った。-After the ride, I went to choir practice.  Yes, I know that 走る is technically run but I have been told that it can used for a ride in the sense that I have just used it.  Now, if I’m right, the こと nominalizes it.  That is, it turns the verb into a nous.  And, yeah, I did have to look up choir practice.

あの。。。まず走ることの後でシャワーをあびた。)- Well, right after the ride I took a shower.  Now, If I’ve done this one right, it literally says something like “first thing after the ride…”  I was trying to work in a new word there.

And, yes, that little paragraph does stop a bit abruptly, but that’s all the time I had for writing.

頑張って

Leave a Reply

