A Saturday of Not Understanding Anime

Yeah, that’s a weird title, I know.  Tomorrow is Saturday, and my plan is “All 日本語 all the time.   My wife is working nights right now, so she’ll be asleep most of the day tomorrow.  I have my Cafetalk Japanese lesson with Makisan at the rather appalling hour of 7:30 am (nobody’s fault but my own) and then I’m on my own.

So, I will talk to myself in Japanese.  If I want to read something, I will tackle the book Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi which is in Kanji with furigana.  If I want to watch TV, I will watch Tenchi Universe with not subtitles.  (I don’t expect to understand all the words by any means, but I know the anime quite well, so I will be able to follow the story, anyway, and we’ll see what effect not having any English to fall back on has.)  If I want to listen to music, I will listen to Japanese music.  At least from 7:00 am until noon I proclaim my home to be an English free zone.

I must be nuts.

明日は土曜日です。私の計画は[すべての日本のすべての時間です。この間妻は夜で働かなければなりませんから、明日は寝ます。午前7時半真紀さんとCafetalkのレッスンがあります。後でひとりです。私に日本語で話します。何かをよみたいたら、千と千尋の神隠しを読みます。漢字で不意仮名とがあります。テレビを見たいたら、天地無用を見ます。音楽を聞きたいたら、の本後の音楽を聞きます。少なくとも午前7時から12時まで、私の家で、英語を話しません。

So, there is my attempt at sort of translating the above into Japanese.  More or less, because I can’t yet translate phrases like “not having any English to fall back on” but I hope (and think) I got the idea across, even if, as I expect, I made some mistakes along the way.

If you are struggling to learn Japanese, then look at what I just did.  I have been learning Japanese on my own since just last year, and look what I can do?  Not perfectly, not fluently, but I’m getting there, and, if I can do it, you can do it.

Right?

Right.

頑張って

Leave a Reply

