It’s Assessment Time!

Yeah, I’ve been pretty remiss about blogging lately.  I was on vacation and just, somehow, didn’t get around to it.  But, you know what I did get around to?  Studying Japanese, that’s what.

In fact, last week I got together with two Japanese speakers, one of them a native speaker, for lunch at a Japanese restaurant.  The main topic of discussion ended up being Miyamoto Musashi, who is the topic of a great novel (Musashi) and a great series of films (The Samurai Trilogy starring Toshiro Mifune).  That was a lot of fun, and I hope to do it again next month.

(In case you’re wondering, I had pork dumplings and teriyaki noodles.  Another person had a bento box with teriyaki chicken and the other person went for sushi.  Add in some edamame as an appetizer and some hot green tea, and you have a nice meal.  Throw in some conversation (more or less) in Japanese, and you have a really nice time.)

The main topic this week is the conditional form of verbs.  There are two ways to make the conditional:

You can take the simple past form and add ら to it (which also works for adjectives, by the way)

Or, you can …well…I don’t know the second way yet.  That’s the big topic of this week’s chapter, and I haven’t really gotten started on the grammar yet, as I’ve been hitting the vocabulary.  Grammar study starts tomorrow.

So, where the heck am I?

Well, I have learned, I suppose, a couple of thousand vocabulary terms and quite a few verb conjugations as well as other structures.  I can converse using quite a bit of Japanese and not so much English…and an episode of Rurouni Kenshi is, sadly, still pretty much incomprehensible.

Still, great progress is being made.

And I’m still having fun.

Last week I was at a meeting and had to sit out part of it.  I pulled out my tablet, opened up memrise and made great use of the time.  Better use, in fact, than if I had been in the meeting!

頑張って

Leave a Reply

