Study Time?

When is the best time to study?

Sometimes, if you live around my house, the best time is whenever you can squeeze in some peace among the chaos!

You have to figure (a) when you have time and (b) when your brain seems to work best.

Fortunately for me, those two times often coincide.  I’m the only early riser in my family, and, like a lot of early risers, I tend to be wide awake very shortly after getting up, so the morning when I’m the only one awake is a great study time for me.

Unless I have to be at work early…in which case lunchtime works best.

Unless I have a whole lot of work to do…in which case I have to somehow squeeze the time out of something else.

What doesn’t work well for me is staying up late to study.  I get sleepy.  It’s better than nothing if that’s all there is, but it’s always at the bottom of my list.

I like scheduling my study because it turns it into a habit, but when my schedule gets broken, I still try to find a way to fit it into my day.

例えば、今朝もう勉強した。(Which I hope means, “For example, this morning I have already studied”.)

I have reviewed vocabulary and learned some new vocabulary.  What I will do at lunchtime is do some more of my homework.  My homework for this week is 2/3 finished, although I’m getting hung up on one intriguing point.  I understand it, but knowing when to apply it is tricky.

みえます means to be able to see something.  I can see that car.  I can’t see any flying saucers.

みられます also means to be able to see something but in the sense of your intention to see that thing is fullfillable…

With the first word, the thing that you can see comes into your line of sight regardless of what you want.  With the second, your wish to see that thing can be completed.  It might make more sense to translate the second as “can be seen” perhaps?

The first: “I can see a T-Rex!”

The second: “At Jurassic Park, a T-Rex can be seen.”

I more or less get that, but, when given a sentence and asked to select the right form of the verb, I get a little hesitant.  That’s okay.  Makisan will tell me the answers during my lesson on Saturday.

Oh, and you can do the same thing with the verb for “to hear” as well.

Some fun, eh?

This is why we love 日本語!

頑張って

 

Leave a Reply

