And…We’re Back

Whew!  It has been a busy week, but I am (almost!) caught up.  I still have some work to do on Anki, but I have cleared out the backlog on Memrise and finished all my homework for Chapter 26, so, Chapter 27, here I come.

When I was going through Minna no Nihong0 1, I hit a chapter that, for whatever reason, just wasn’t fun, and I had to simply slog through it.  Chapter 26 of Minna no Nihongo 2 was like that.  I simply didn’t enjoy the chapter.  Now, it didn’t help that it stretched over two weeks or that a lot of that time I was ridiculously busy and then on a trip with my wife where studying was off the table.

Then I was sick last night and didn’t get any sleep, but I still had my lesson this morning, so I had to gut it out.

Then, when I got to work this morning, I had a conversation with a colleague about language learning, something he found very difficult.

I looked back at the last two weeks and basically told him that, in my opinion, the average person is quite capable of learning a new language, if (and it is a big ‘if’) they can find a way to motivate themselves to put in the consistent daily effort.  If you do that, you’ll learn.

These last two weeks have been really tough.  It was a struggle to finish off all the homework and get through this chapter.  There were times when I didn’t want to put forth the effort, but I got it done anyway, and that’s the trick.

You don’t have to be some kind of genius or have a remarkable gift to learn a new language (even Japanese!).  You just have to have the self discipline to make yourself do it。

The main grammar point this week is potential verbs.  I didn’t know what potential verbs are, so I looked it up.  They are verbs that express the ability (or potential) to do a certain thing.

In other words, “I can speak Japanese” and “I am able to speak Japanese” would both be in the potential form.

I already know one form:  the dictionary form of a verb followed by ことができる.  I always thought that form was a bit clunky.

日本語を話すことができます. I can speak Japanese. (Hey, use example sentences that make you feel good!)

Apparently, that isn’t the only way to do it.  You can conjugate the verb in a certain way so that it means the same thing.  すごい。  I don’t know how to do it yet, because I haven’t looked over the chapter yet.

I seem to recall that the book Learn Japanese From Some Guy by Jeremy Rasmussen has a chapter on this.  I’ll probably dig it out and read that chapter.

Anyway, I’m back on track, thankfully.

Hang in there and don’t let life derail your studies too much!

頑張って

Leave a Reply

