More Oh What Have I Done?

As I mentioned earlier, I was asked to read something at church.  Out loud.  In Japanese.  The date of this event is now just over one week away.  I agreed to do this figuring that what they would send me to read would be something nice and short and simple.

Not so much.

It arrived yesterday.  It is a reading from 1 Corinthians.  Of all things, it had to be something written by Paul, the master of the long and convoluted sentence!

Oh, and did I mention that they sent it to me in English?  Yep.  I not only have to read it, I have to translate it first.

Yikes!

I am not ready for this.  I’m not really very advanced in my study of Japanese, so I am going to cheat.

The first thing that I did was take the passage that I have to translate and simplify it in English.  This was an absolute necessity. There was no way, even with the help of every book, app and website in the world that I could have translated it word for word.  I kept the meaning the same, but I definitely made the words easier.  Some of the floweriness will be lost, but that can’t be helped.

Then I did my best translation.

In romaji.

Yep.  I told you I was cheating.  The idea of standing up in front of a group of people and trying to read kanji or even kana was too much for me.  I made that decision pretty much before translating a single word.

Then I sent it all to Makisan, my Cafetalk tutor.  Fortunately, my lesson is tomorrow, and then I will have one more lesson before I have to stand up and speak Japanese in public.

Oh, dear.

Now I really only have one important question, and it is a very important question.

Does anyone in my church speak Japanese?

I don’t know the answer to that, but I am telling myself that it is “no”.  Whether it’s true or not, bit makes me feel better, because it means that there will be no one to notice my mistakes!

You know, I do want to use Japanese.  I just wasn’t planning on doing it quite so soon!

頑張って

 

 

Leave a Reply

