…and more grammar

Since I put these sentences up yesterday, I thought I would put up the answers today:

Mr. Santos did not come to the party.

サントスさんはパーティー着なかった。

Things are expensive in Japan.

日本に物価が高い。

The sea around Okinawa was beautiful.

沖縄の海は美しい。

Today is my birthday.

今日は僕の誕生日だ。

I think it will rain tomorrow.

明日雨が降ると思います。

The prime minister said that he would go to the U.S.A. next month.

受賞は来月アメリカへ行くといいます。

This is a cake Mr. Miller made.

これはミラーさんが作ったケーキだ。

That man who is over there is Mr. Miller.

あそこにいる人はミラーさんだ。

I have forgotten the words I learned yesterday.

明日習った言葉は忘れた。

I have no time to go shopping.

買い物に行く時間がありません。

When you borrow books from the library, you need a card.

図書館で本を借りるときカードが要ります。

 

Now, first, you might notice that I have left off the last sentence.  That’s because I need to study some more vocabulary and grammar before I get to it.  Also, I don’t want to give a false impression.  Don’t get the idea that I simply looked at these sentences and the translations just flowed out of my brain, because that is definitely not how it was.

I hemmed and hawed over some of these things, wrote some of them and rewrote some of them.  There were a couple that I just looked at and got, but that was not the norm!

I never said Japanese would be easy, I just said it would be doable!  Hey, if it was too easy, where would the sense of accomplishment be?

頑張って

 

Leave a Reply

