Genki Resources

As you guys know by now if you’ve read much of the nonsense I’ve posted, I use Minna No Nihongo as my textbook.  I like it a lot because it suits my learning style and also because it’s what my tutor uses!

The other big contender out there is, of course, Genki, which is being used by Heath, who left a comment with some resource and study info in it.  I figured that was too important to be left as a comment, so here it is:

Keep this blog up! I’m doing the Hacking Japanese Supercourse too…I’m using the Genki books and taking lessons on Italki and I have been quite pleased so far with both. Italki has a feature where you can write journal entries such as this one and native speakers will correct it for you, similar to lang-8, which I find quite helpful.

I have an Italki account, and I have used the journal feature.  It’s a really nice way to get feedback pretty quickly about what you’ve written.  You can take lessons there similar to Cafetalk because it’s the one I have used.  I haven’t taken any actual lessons on Italki, but I did meet a language exchange partner there.  He is a Japanese speaker learning English, so we meet via Skype weekly and help each other out.  I’ve looked at lang-8 but haven’t really tried it out.  There are only so many hours in the day!

*If anyone would like to do a review of Italki or lang-8 or genki or anything else 日本語 related, I’d be happy to post it here.*

For any readers using Genki, this was my favorite Anki deck. That deck has audio files and example sentences to practice grammar concepts from each chapter. I find that Memrise is better for introducing the vocab, but I rely on Anki more for maintenance.

Heath and I are walking parallel roads.  I use Memrise for introducing vocab as well.

Hang in there and keep it up.  If you’re feeling brave, 日本語で書いてください.  It would be good practice for us both!

Thanks for the learning tools!

頑張って

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Genki Resources

  1. I started to use Memrise yersterday too. It really seems to help grasping new words.
    What kind of courses are you using? English -> hiragana? English -> Kanji (hiragana)?
    Mine is the second type and i don’t know if it will be useful in the long time because what i really need is to associate prononciation to kanji and not translation to kanjis.

    By the way, i took a “tae kim guide” courses, as i did on anki, which seems to be a really good grammar guide.

    Like

  2. The course I use is actually both. The course has 50 lessons. Lesson 1 is the vocabulary from Chapter 1 in hiragana. Lesson 26 is the vocabulary from Chapter 1 in Kanji. In the same way, lessons 2 and 27, 3 and 28, etc. go together. Also, the Nihongoshark Anki deck is in Kanji. I feel like you should make the move to Kanji as quick as possible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

