Eeny Meeny Miney Moe…

More forms?

Really?

Yeah.

The story so far:

The ます form, including the associated nonpast negative, past affirmative and past negative forms

(Why nonpast? Because it is both present and future)

The て form (which means learning the dreaded て form song which I am, sadly, still singing)

The ない form

The dictionary form

And now, this week, presenting: The た form.

You gotta love verbs, right?

Fortunately, the た form appears to be easy.

(WARNING: The above most likely ill-informed comment is based on an extremely cursory glance over the material.)

In fact, when I say “cursory” I may be exaggerating, since all I really did was look at one sentence, but it was a very informative sentence: “The た-form is made by changing て and で of the て-form into た and だ respectively.”

Now, this is good, because it means that all the time I spent working on the て form saves me time here.

Now, this is bad because it means I have to keep on singing that &%$# て form song!

I haven’t actually learned what the た form is used for just yet, but I’ll get there shortly.

I generally do my Japanese lesson (meet with my Cafetalk tutor) on Monday or Tuesday mornings, but, next week it will be on Thursday morning. That means I get a couple of extra days to learn the material, and that gives me two options:

  1. Goof off for two days and have the usual amount of time to study
  2. Use the extra time to review some things from previous chapters as well as learning the new material

I guess we know which one I’ll choose.

頑張って

Leave a Reply

