The Schedule For Today

It’s Monday, and here’s a new week.

Sort of.

As far as Japanese is concerned, my Cafetalk lesson is on Tuesdays, so, in a way, that’s when my Japanese week starts.

Yesterday, I talked with a language exchange partner on Skype.   We spoke some in each language, because that’s the exchange part, and, after attempting to say something that involved some (to me) rather complicated Japanese grammar, my language partner said, “You’re Japanese is understandable.”

Now, that might sound like faint praise to you, but I was psyched up by it.  I really had to struggle to say what I wanted to say, and to get through it and convey my meaning was very satisfying.  Excellent?  No, but a vitally important step on the way!

Anyway, here’s my Japanese schedule for today:

Memrise

-Review previous vocabulary

-Go over vocabulary for the next chapter (14)

Anki

-Kanji review

-Vocabulary review

-Study new vocabulary

That might seem like a lot, but it isn’t.  I know this because I’ve already done most of it, and it only took about 40 minutes.

A word about the Anki vocabulary deck:  It is from Nihongoshark.com.  You get words and sentences in Kanji.  There is some overlap between that deck and みんなの日本語, which is good.  I actually started the deck over awhile back because I felt like I had gotten lost in it, and starting over has been extremely helpful, especially with the sentences.

The problem I was having with the sentences was (1) lots of unknown works and (2) lots of unknown grammar.  Well, now that I have advanced in my studies, I recognize the grammar, and that has made all the difference.

When the card first appears, you see the word (or sentence) and hear it pronounced by an actual human being instead of a robot voice.  What I do, though, is turn the sound off and read it myself.  Then I turn the sound up and play the audio to check myself.  That really helps get the Kanji in my head.  Then I flip the card and double check the meaning.  Yes, turning the sound up and down is more work and sometimes annoyingly tedious but, well, 日本語を習いたいです。  That’s the point, right?  And sometimes learning is tedious.

(And, yes, I spent 3 months learning the daily use Kanji, but it can be different in a sentence, since the Kanji may be combined with other Kanji.)

Find your method, implement your method, always look for ways to improve your method, and find and use every opportunity to speak in Japanese and to listen to Japanese, but the speaking part is crucial.  You have to use it to learn it!

頑張って

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Schedule For Today

  1. Hey! Just a quick comment to let you know that your #1 fan is still following your adventures in learning Japanese. Personally I abandoned Anki to learn kanji back in November. My awful accuracy rate of ~80% meant that I was always overwhelmed by reviews. Also, every time I asked my (Japanese) girlfriend about some kanji I had difficulty with, she would tell me that she never uses that kanji… So good for the “2000” most used kanji…
    So now instead I’m only using FluentU (learning some “useful” kanji along the way) and Human Japanese (www.humanjapanese.com). Human Japanese is really a jewel, I would recommend it to anyone STARTING to learn Japanese. Seeing your level you would find at least the first 30 (out of 45) chapters quite boring. I know there’s an Intermediate version, which might be better for you, but I’m not there yet!
    I’m currently waiting for my visa to have Japanese lessons in Japan (Sapporo) from April to October this year. Looking forward to it!
    Did I say I was writing a quick comment ?;)

    Like

    • Hey! Great to hear from you! I haven’t tried FluentU, but I think Human Japanese is great. I have both volumes on my tablet, and sometimes I use it as a supplement to Minna No Nihongo. You get a ton of information for a really low price, and I especially like the “ingredients” feature. I haven’t relied on it as my sole learning tool because the little quizzes just aren’t enough practice for me. To be honest, I haven’t really looked at the intermediate one yet, but I have had it for months. I really need to dig into it, though. Thanks for bringing it back to my attention! Lessons in Sapporo? That’s great. I’m envious! Let me know how it goes! In fact, drop me a line in Japanese when you can. It’ll be good practice for both of us 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! I stumbled upon your blog a few months back and enjoy reading about your Japanese language journey! I’m currently learning kanji and vocab through the NihongoShark Anki decks, too, and just wanted to comment about the tedious volume adjusting you mentioned. If you go to Anki via desktop computer, you can click on ‘Options’ at the bottom of the Anki window, then go to ‘General’ in the menu that appears. From there you can uncheck ‘Automatically play audio’ and when you’re studying and a card is shown to you, you’ll only hear the audio if you click on ‘play’. I also like to try speaking it first before hearing the audio play so that’s how I’m currently studying. However, I’ve found that you can’t access that particular options menu via phone or tablet. Of course, once you do set it, the options get synced across your devices. I hope that helps eliminate your volume adjusting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

