Time + Effort = Japanese. 簡単です。

天気がわるいです。とても寒いです。それは雪がふっていませ。

Can you tell what’s on my mind?

But, enough of that. If I can stop my hands from shaking and my teeth from chattering long enough, I’ll write a post.

I was talking about the Japanese language and the learning process with a guy who speaks Japanese, and I talked about Phase 2 of the Hacking Japanese Supercourse: learn the Kanji. 100 days, 2200 Kanji, go!

To be honest, I don’t really think about that aspect of it anymore. I still review the Kanji, but I am well into phase three and am trying to figure out how to use adjectives properly and construct sentences. He was, however, really startled by the fact that I had learned that many Kanji in that short a time.

I think this is an issue that a lot of people have.   The numbers make it sound a lot harder than it is. As I have said before, learning Japanese isn’t hard. What’s hard is making yourself put forth the effort every single day. If you do that, you’ll learn Japanese.

The number 2,200 is large, so learning that many Kanji seems difficult. Compressing it into three months makes it seem even more difficult. Shouldn’t I stretch out into, maybe, a year? No. Six Kanji a day? You can do better than that! Okay, six months, then? That’s 12 Kanji a day. That isn’t so unreasonable, but compressing it into three months actually helps. Cram the Kanji into your brain and move on. Anki really makes it a lot easier than you think it will be.

Trust me. I’ve been there. Learning a language does take time and effort. You have to work it in every day. You have to devote time to it. Just accept that and get on with it instead of spending time worrying about how much time or effort it will take.

How much time and effort will it take?   How much do you have?

It will take as much time and effort as you can put into it. The more you put forth, the faster it will go. The less you put forth, the longer it will take, and there is a critical mass of time and effort. If you put in less than that amount, you won’t learn. You do have to be serious about it, but it doesn’t have to eat up your whole life.

For the next few days, I’ll be working on comparisons. “This car is faster than that car.” That sort of thing. After that comes expressing desires “I want to have a fast car” and then expressing purpose “I am going to the dealership to buy a fast car”. The sentences are getting more complex, aren’t they? すごいですね!

But it is still really cold. I think my goal for this weekend will be to stay home, bundled up and warm.

Sounds like some prime Japanese study time to me!

頑張って

2 thoughts on “Time + Effort = Japanese. 簡単です。

  1. Seems like you’ve done well over the holidays! I’m finding it so hard to get back on track! One thing I’ve taken to doing on your posts is, whenever you write in Japanese, I put it into Google translate, but into Swedish – to help me out 🙂 I’ve found it a good way keep up the learning in a different way.

    Like

  2. I love great ideas, and that is a great idea! You have to find good ways to make the learning process personal, and you’ve definitely done that! とてもいいですね!Even keeping my head above water over the holidays was tough, but I at least did that if nothing else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

