Another Cafetalk Lesson

What a great lesson today on Cafetalk!  We’re going through the lyrics of the song Tsunami by Southern All Stars and working on Chapter 12 of みんなの日本語 which is all about those lovely adjectives.

Here’s on of those scheduling things, though.  Usually I do my lesson in the morning before work, but, today, I had to go into work early and do some things before breakfast.  Then I could take a break and have my lesson.  There are plenty of laptops around here, but none of them have cameras.  Usually I use my wife’s laptop, but, since she doesn’t have to go into work until later today, I couldn’t take that with me, so I found myself Skyping on a tablet.  Actually, it worked really well.  It isn’t so great for seeing typed messages while you chat, but you can’t have everything.  At least I got my lesson in!

Now it’s time to move on to Chapter 13, and the sentences and grammatical structures are getting more complicated.  One of the example sentences translates as “Because I have stomach ache, I don’t want to eat anything.”  Excellent!  (Well, not that he has a stomach ache, but the sentence structure, I mean.)

It was funny this morning.  Someone overheard me talking about learning Japanese and asked if I knew how to day “Good morning.”  Yes.  Yes, I do.  It was actually a little boost to think that I can do, in my own halting fashion, quite a bit more than that.

If you focus too much on what you don’t know, it gets depressing, so focus instead on what you do know.  See how much you’ve learned?  Now just keep going and the rest of it will come, too.

I told a friend today, “I’m proving you wrong.”

“What do you mean?” he asked.

“You told me that Japanese was impossible to learn, and I’m learning it.”

Presented with incontrovertible proof of just how wrong he was, he broke down and admitted that Japanese wasn’t as difficult as he had thought.

No, he did not.

Instead, he said, “Well, learning comes easy to you.”

*sigh*

Learning doesn’t come any easier to me than it does to you.  It’s that I am willing to put in the time every day, that’s all.

Now you do it.

頑張って

 

Leave a Reply

