Sing…Sing a Song…

During my last lesson on Cafetalk, I asked my tutor, Makisan, about Japanese songs.  When I was learning Spanish, one of the things that helped me was learning the lyrics to songs and then singing along.

There is a downside to this.  Song lyrics won’t always be pronounced in a natural way and won’t always be constructed the way spoken sentences are, but, if you’re musically inclined, it can be a fun to get some words into your head an mouth.

Now, the fact is, I don’t know very many Japanese songs or groups, and I’m having trouble finding ones that I like.  A lot of Japanese pop music is on the techno or house music side, that that’s a style that simply doesn’t appeal to me, and you aren’t likely to get very far by doing a search for “Japanese groups that sound like ______________” (fill in the blank with your favorite group from your own country).

I did stumble across a Japanese group called “Southern All Stars.”  (No, I don’t know why a Japanese group has a name like that in English.)  I have posted a video of one of their songs, Tsunami.

So, Makisan gave me a copy of the lyrics to Tsunami.  We are going to talk about them at our next lesson.  (This isn’t a deviation from my normal study plan.  I also did this week’s chapter from みんなの日本語。)  The song is in addition to my normal studying.

I suppose we’ll go over the lyrics, define words, look at structure, all that sort of thing.  I don’t suppose I’ll be getting out my keyboard and accompanying us as we sing a duet.

It just goes to show, though, that there are always fun ways to vary your normal studying.  You just have to find them.

頑張って

In case you don’t know, the title is a reference to a children’s song that is very well known in the US:

 

Leave a Reply

