Motivation? Yes, please.

In an interesting (or possibly boring, I like to keep all my options open) bit of synchronicity, while I have having a bit of a low energy day or two, I came across two references to keeping up passion in your language studies.

One is over at The Welshman Learns Swedish, and the other was in an email from Niko at Nihongoshark.com. Niko is considering daily emails to people to nudge them forward in their Japanese studies, and he has started a social group using a site/app called Slack.

Now, I’m not much of a social media or group kind of guy. I don’t do facebook or twitter or instagram or snapchat or (fill in the black with the social media site/app of your choice), but this is a group focused on learning Japanese, and, as we all know (just check out the top of the page if you don’t remember) I am into learning Japanese, so I am going to give it a try.

The other thing that I am going to give a try is a language exchange. The idea is that you connect with a person who speaks the language you want to learn and who wants to learn the language that you speak. Some of these sites work via the written (well, typed) word, so I would write to someone in Japanese. They would correct my errors and write to me in English, and I would correct their errors and round and round we go. On some sites you simply post what you’ve written and various people might correct it, and you help others by correcting what they’ve written. On some site, you might find someone who will skype with you – 10 minutes in Japanese and then 10 minutes in English, for example.

The last one is what interests me. Real time conversation is the thing that I feel most in need of now. If I could skype with someone every two or three days for a short time, I think that it would help my language acquisition quite a bit.  And, lots of them are ただ (free)!

But, I digress.

I was talking about motivation.

Actually, I didn’t digress, because the prospect of having to try and chat with someone in Japanese would be plenty to keep me motivated!

Work is busy, life is busy, Japanese is hard, woe is me…

No.

Actually, work is busy, life is busy, Japanese is fun, hooray for me for studying it.

Time to go hunting for a language exchange and find someone I can chat with in Japanese.

頑張って

2 thoughts on “Motivation? Yes, please.

Leave a Reply

