My 10 steps to basic Swedish

No, you haven’t suddenly gone to an alternate universe and, no, I haven’t suddenly switched languages on you, but good language learning ideas are good ideas, and this post definitely has some good ideas in it.

The Welshman Learns Swedish

So I’ve just finished week 7 of self learning Swedish and it is official, the honeymoon period is over!

Firstly, I must say, I’m pretty damn proud of how far I’ve come. Currently I am predominantly messaging my Swedish friends and  Swedish/Norwegian colleagues in Swedish, and when I remember to, am speaking it.

But that right there is my self-confessed problem. I should not be writing “when I remember to” it should be “when ever I can!”

Before I started to learn Swedish I had been learning German on and off since high school. I mostly had German friends in University, then started working for a company who’s biggest customer were German; Mercedes Benz, and then decided to take private classes. I still wouldn’t rate myself that high on the German scale though.

The point is, I hardly ever spoke the language!

Now, by no means am I saying that…

View original post 710 more words

2 thoughts on “My 10 steps to basic Swedish

    • I’m still checking out language exchanges myself. italki is free and a lot of the members there will skype. Lang8 seems to have a big social aspect to it. I don’t know how much swedish is on either one of those, and I haven’t tried them myself yet, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

