Easy Reading – ロード・オブ・ザ・リング

ロード・オブ・ザ・リング

映画は嫌いですが本が大好きです。本は一番好きです。毎年本を読みます。趣味は読んでいます。私は毎月20本を読みます。はい、それはたくさんあります。ロード・オブ・ザ・リングはとても面白いです。日本語で本を読みたいです。宮本武蔵を読みたいです。

Whew! Okay, here we go.  I did that one without spaces, which definitely makes it tougher.

ロード・オブ・ザ・リング – Katakana practice – sound it out…it comes out to be Rōdo Obu za ringu..which you should be able to turn into “The Lord of the Rings”  You have to get used to loan words and how they come across in japanese, but, once you do, it isn’t that hard to figure them out

映画は嫌いです – I don’t like the movies.  Sorry if that’s sacrilege to you, but they don’t really follow the books all that well.

が – but – this is used to connect two opposing thoughts

本が大好きです – so, obviously – I love the books.  好き is to like something, and 大 means big, so 大好き is a big like.

本は一番好きです – but 大好き wasn’t enough, because this is my favorite book (I know it’s a trilogy, but it’s really just one long book broken up into volumes to make it べんり) – so I used 一番.  It is my number one like

毎年本を読みます – I read the book every year – yes, I really do.  I’m a nerd like that.  I can’t help it.  You have to be true to yourself, right?

趣味は読んでいます – my hobby is reading – of course the “my” is implied from context rather than being actually present in the sentence.  One of the (many) fascinating things about Japanese is how much you can leave out of sentences and still be correct.

私は毎月20本を読みます – I read 20 books a month – I stuck “I” in there this time, but I really should have included ぐらい meaning “about” and there is definitely an error here, as I don’t know the counter for books, so I left it out.

はい、それはたくさんあります – Yes, that’s a lot.  Well, it is.

ロード・オブ・ザ・リングはとても面白いです – The Lord of the Rings is very interesting

日本語で本を読みたいです – I want to read a book in Japanese – I’m still working on when to use で, but I think that 日本語で本 would be a book in Japanese where 日本語の本 would be a Japanese book – a language book.  You can also note the たい on the verb meaning to want to do something

宮本武蔵を読みたいです – the first part of this one is hard because it is a name – Musashi Miyamoto – both a person and the title of a novel about him – hence I want to read Musashi which is how the book is generally titled in English.  Really I guess it should be 日本語で宮本武蔵を読みたいです – I want to read Musashi in Japanese.

On those last couple of sentences we got 読みたいです.  The 読みたい part means to want to read, so you don’t need the です for understanding, but putting it there makes it more polite.

So, there it is.  One more attempt to write in Japanese and to explain it.  If it helps you to read it, great.  It definitely helps me to write it and then to break it down and try to figure out what I did and why I did it.  Given my limited knowledge of Japanese, I don’t guarantee that it is totally correct, but I think (hope) that it’s pretty good.

頑張って

 

 

Leave a Reply

