I Am Counting the Minutes

Literally.

My Cafetalk tutor (or, at least the book she uses) is making me do something I have been putting off…I am learning the days of the week and how to tell time.  It’s like being in third grade all over again, except back then I didn’t have to memorize which numbers use ふん for minutes and which ones use ぷん!  (Hint:  in much of counting, you can count (ha ha) on at least 3, 6 and 8 to make trouble.  With time, 1 also gets into the act.  So does 10.)

By the way, JapanesePod101 has a cool system for keeping the kanji for the days of the week straight, in case you’re interested in doing that, and, if you aren’t, you probably will be eventually. (Beginner Season 1 Lesson 44. Teacher’s Pet!…but you have to have a premium membership to access it.  Bummer.  ただではない.  It isn’t free.)

The beauty of having a tutor is that I don’t feel like I’m floundering around.  My studies have some organization, which is what I needed.

I’m pushing it a little, though.  I spent two days memorizing vocabulary and sentence structures from Chapter 3 and am now wandering into Chapter 4, times and dates and all that.

The great thing about a book is that it is sort of a road map – signposts to mark your progress.  Keep progressing.  That’s the trick.  If, like me, you’re nutty enough to decide to learn Japanese, keep moving forward.  Even if you only learn 5 new words a day, if you do it every day, you will amass a huge vocabulary over time.

There is no magic system, but consistent effort will pay off.  Yes, I’m beating that theme to pieces.  In fact, you might say that I bring it up…wait for it…consistently!

頑張って

Leave a Reply

