The Journey So Far…

As I write this, my favorite learning tool, Anki, is upgrading to a new version.  Hooray for Anki.

I am sweeping up the last Kanji, moving them from “learning” to “mature”.

anki-stats-2015-10-18@13-41-17

I am working my way though a mountain of vocabulary, little by little.

anki-stats-2015-10-18@13-41-39

I am studying grammar using a variety of resources.  I have done some skype lessons on Cafetalk.  I have been very consistent with my studies.  So, where am I?  Am I where I want to be?

Um…I’m not sure…

私の問題は何ですか。

That would be my version of how to say, “What’s my problem?” in Japanese.

I still feel like I need to find some organization to my studies.  I don’t have anyone to converse with on a daily basis, and that problem isn’t likely to get better in the short term.  What I would really like, though, is a good book of exercises that I could use for practice.

You know the sort of thing I mean…fill in the right form of the verb, translate this paragraph, that sort of thing.  The best thing would be daily conversation with someone who could  correct me when I mess up, but, in the absence of that, some very academic exercises would be a nice thing.

In the meantime, though, while I hunt for that, I am continuing with my daily routine – Anki for 漢字 (Kanji) and vocabulary, Japanesepod101.com for listening and some different books for grammar.

After all, it has really only been about four months since I started this thing, so I don’t want to have unreasonable expectations.  I just want to be fluent in Japanese…oh…now would be good.

頑張って

Leave a Reply

