The Most Annoying Things About Anki…Is No Longer Annoying

I really really like Anki.  The problem that I have always had with it is that, once you review your cards scheduled for a given day, they are locked away until they come up for review again, and, sometimes, when I have time, I would like to revisit those cards later in the day.

For the Kanji that isn’t such a big deal.  I have the Heisig book and can simply open it up and review to my heart’s content.  However, for the vocabulary decks, it’s an issue.

I finally got annoyed enough about it to do some research and discovered that I can easily create a new temporary deck containing all the cards I saw today which I can then review.  When I’m done with them, those cards go back to where they were in their normal deck.

That means that, if I have the time and inclination, I can review today’s cards later in the day again and again, as often as I like.

How cool is that?

For anyone who is interested, you do this by going to tools –> create filtered deck and then, in the search box, include the name of the deck you want to study and rated:1 which means “cards I saw today” and voila.  Since I was so bleary today, I did that.  I don’t know if I’ll actually get time to study them, but, hey, the deck is there if I want it, and, if I don’t use it, no harm no foul.

I’m pretty sure there will be days in the future when I will use this.  A re-review on the same day can be pretty helpful for me.

Leave a Reply

